Happy Alienate Single People’s Day!

There was a time when I thought that Valentine’s Day was just a day made up by card and themed-gift manufacturers to make husbands and boyfriends feel like they should buy stuff for their wives or girlfriends, who would have otherwise been just fine.

I have to say though, that as a parent, I have come to realize the true meaning behind the holiday.  It’s to guilt parents into buying stupid toss-away valentines for their kids to give (with a healthy dose of uneasiness) to the other kids in their lives.  (Which reminds me of a hilarious little blog post I saw here.  Check it out.)

So, in quiet protest, I decided to make some valentine-themed treats myself instead of participating in the corporate love-buying-agenda.  That way, we can all enjoy a little cupid’s arrow without the sting of having to wonder if “be mine” is a little too presumptuous a message to send to that runny-nosed boy in class who can never seem to keep his socks pulled up.

We’re heading out to a little valentine party for the kiddles and I’m in charge of dessert.  So I made these little treats to bring along.

First, I made some of Martha’s own Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.

Look at them for crying out loud!  And you should taste them.  I had to sample one to make sure they were suitable to serve.  Then, because I couldn’t believe how good they were, I had to have second to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.

Then, since we all know that these cupcakes will never see the light of a child’s eyes at this party, I made some cookies for the kids.

They are really just a quick shot of childhood diabetes, but they were made with love.  Seriously, there is a LOT of sugar going on here, but they’ll love’em, and it’s only one day.

If  you’d like to dazzle your loved ones with these little treats I’ll post the recipes below.

Before I wrap this up, however, I would like to say that I fully intend on having a really nice Valentine’s Day with Chris, even if it is only because as parents of three toddlers, it would be insane for us turn down an excuse to go out for dinner.  Plus, he’s nice to look at.

Now, I know this is lazy, and I am fully prepared for the gasps and guffaws, but I’m totally just going to give you the links to these recipes.  I made them exactly as written.  Why would I write out the directions when I have party to go to!  Leave me alone!

The Recipes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

To make Martha Stewart’s Red Velvet Cupcakes, first read this note, then go here:  Red Velvet Cupcakes

Cream Cheese Frosting

To make her INSANE Cream Cheese Frosting, go here:  Cream Cheese Frosting

Sugar Cookies

Okay I lied.  I did make a change to the sugar cookies.  I added 1/2 tsp of pink gel food colour paste to  make them pink.  You don’t have to do that though!  So, to make the best sugar cookies you’ve ever had (and you don’t have to chill the dough) go here:  Awesome Sugar Cookies

Cookie Filling

To fill the cookies you could just make a simple buttercream, but if you want to use the marshmallowy one I made, swing by this little url.  I’ll warn you, they came out VERY sweet.  There is also a recipe there for sugar cookies that I haven’t tried:  Super Sweet Cookie Filling

There, are you happy?  Now I’m late.  Thanks guys.  Thanks for stealing my recipes and making me late for parties.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

4 thoughts on “Happy Alienate Single People’s Day!

  1. Happy Valentine’s Eve, you highly entertaining girl, you! I am inspired, but lacking in time. Do you want to deliver the featured treats to my house between 3 and 5 pm tomorrow?!

  2. I made the pink cookies today (with Isaac and Ireland) and we ate them and they were delicious. Isaac ate three or four for dessert, dipped in whipped cream. Ireland covered hers in strawberries (held in place with whipped cream). Thanks for the great Valentine’s Day idea!

Leave a Reply

