The BEST Oatmeal Cookies…EVER.

Okay, so I got this recipe from my beloved sister, Jenny, who, incidentally, was not consulted before I decided to publish her recipe, so, uh…sorry Jenny.  I’ll email you a really ugly picture of myself and you can post it on your facebook as retribution.  Okay?

Come on!  It’s late, and she just had a baby so I can’t very well call and chance waking her?!?!  Do you really want me to do that?  What are you sadistic or something?  I’m not going to torture the poor woman just so you can feel okay about how you happened upon the recipe for these life-changing cookies.

Seriously, you will not believe how good these are.  The outside is crispy.  The inside is chewy.  And the taste?  Well, lets just say that if for some reason there was no way to make them yourself, and you had the opportunity to trade your first-born for a dozen, that baby might not look quite as cute anymore.  Plus, cookies don’t cry – and you’ll put on more weight with a baby anyway.  Ugh…stop, Lora…just stop.

Anyway, if a picture is worth a thousand words, than hopefully you’ll just skip the previous 1000 awkward words and just check this picture out.

Yeah see…it would be a crime not to share.  And you should be honoured, Jenny.  I needed to come back with a doozy…and this recipe is the only one that would do.  I hope you don’t mind…too much…or at least, tell me you don’t mind too much?

Anyway, before I find a way to further soil the perfection that is this cookie, onto the recipe.

To make 18 of the last cookie you’ll ever have the urge to make you’ll need:

  • 3/4 cups of softened butter
  • 3/4 cups of packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp of water
  • 2 tsp of vanilla
  • 3/4 cups of all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 3 cups of oats
  • 1-1/2 cups of raisins (you can also use chocolate chips, but raisins are better.  It’s a fact.)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Beat the butter until smooth, then slowly add the sugars, egg, water and vanilla.
  3. In another bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon together.  Stir the mixture into wet ingredients just until combined.
  4. Stir in the oats, then the raisins.
  5. Drop 1/3-of-a-cup-sized balls of the dough onto a parchment lined cookie sheet.  If you decided to only make 17 cookies, I would not advise it, but would totally understand if you could not fight the urge to eat the last 1/3 cup of dough, raw.
  6. Bake for about 14 minutes, or until the edges look a little darker than the middle.
  7. Remove them from the oven, and let them cool on the pan for about 5 minutes, before you put them on a rack to cool completely.
  8. Hide them.  I’m not kidding.  Hide them or you will not get to eat more than one.  Store them in an airtight container and they’ll stay chewy for days.

Enjoy, and think of my darling, little sister as you do.

Yum.

Lora

11 thoughts on “The BEST Oatmeal Cookies…EVER.

  1. I’ve had the pleasure of eating these cookies of your dear sisters….and it is true…. they really ARE amazing! Just like her:)

  2. You just can’t . . . what . . . wow.

    They look so good. Oatmeal cookies are my favorite, and you have me almost licking the screen like a fat kid at a cake museum.

    Was this supposed to bring joy?

    Hiss! Hiss!

    Thanks for the recipe, and I hope your sister and her baby don’t kill you for sharing it. 🙂

  3. The only thing you need feel sorry about is that it’s lent and I gave up crap. Thanks for reminding me that these cookies exist. Thank goodness a newborn is a valid excuse to not have enough time to make these (is she still a newborn at 6 weeks?? Tell me so…)

    I see you made the “diet” version. When I make them, I only get 13. They’re about as big as your palm. Another reason why I shouldn’t make them.

    As far as retribution, I’ll just hold out on telling you the recipe for my peanut butter butterscotch cookies. Without a doubt, the best recipe I have. When I brought them into work, they were gone before I could share them with everyone.

    PS. Have you seen your first born? NOT for sale.

  4. Lora,

    Let me begin by saying….I like you.

    Next, I wanted to tell you that I made your banana chocolate chip muffins and the cinnamon was a nice addition to the recipe. Also, my dear friend Tina and her family were the lucky recipients of 16 muffins which were eaten in two days. I made a double recipe and shared some with the Wasaga Beach Library staff (where Kate works) and the rest of the muffins were consumed by our family. Kate didn’t even get one. Very sad and very true story. And Kate is the reason I make chocolate chip banana recipes. But I digress…

    Yesterday I was cleaning and organizing cupboards (including my baking cupboard) and I combined two bags of oats into one. I thought to myself, I should make something with those. Then along came your post today!! Thanks for sharing! Isaac and Ireland are home today and we are going to do some baking and some swimming. Thanks for giving us a very fun recipe. I am going to try 1/2 with raisins and 1/2 with chocolate chips. I hope you are okay with me challenging your facts.

    Happy Tuesday, funny girl!
    From Sara

    1. Haha…poor Kate. And I’ll let you off on the chocolate chip addition as long as you give one to Kate.

      Oh, and on another note, I haven’t forgotten about hanging out. It’s been so crazy around here I haven’t had time for anything…but soon soon!

      1. Dear Lora,
        Kate was skeptical about the raisin cookies, but I told her they were better than I thought. She agreed. She also loved the chocolate chop ones. Clay says the raisin cookies are better, but he doesn’t get a vote cause he hates mushrooms, pickles, olives, peanut butter, mustard, onions, shrimp, and cheesecake.We are making more oatmeal cookies tomorrow cause they are all gone. I made them smaller and I ate seven myself.
        We shared with friends. Thanks!
        Sara

Leave a Reply

