Happy Birthday Benjamin Banks!

The great thing about having a few kids, is that there is always an excuse for cake.  It’s like I got to take the best part of working in an office home with me.  Only now I have three bosses, and they don’t really subscribe to current labour laws…but I still get to eat a lot of cake so who cares.

So this time around, I decided that since it was my first boy’s first birthday, I’d make him a real man cake.  Also, to celebrate one of his first sentences “Yo ho ho!” we went with a pirate theme.

I must say, it turned out great (even though I smushed some of the rosebuds around the bottom in my haste to get it out of the fridge).  I got the design idea from parenting.com.

The real kicker, however, was the taste.  It was pretty unbelievable.  Looking for a new recipe, I googled, “best chocolate cake ever” and it took me straight to one of my favourite sites, The Pioneer Woman.  The recipe is called, The Best Chocolate Sheet Cake.  Ever.  And it is true.  It is easy, and so, so delicious.

Ben liked it too.  And before you say anything, did you really think I wouldn’t do the play-by-play-of-my-kid-eating-cake montage?  I’m a mother…it’s only right.  Here she goes:

“Argh ye kidding me, mom?  This is sooo worth being neglected by you all day.”

“Oh I suppose I could have one little bite.”

“Hmm…”

“Do I detect a hint of buttermilk?”

“Hey, who said I was going to share that thing?!”

“Oh, I see, we all get a piece.  Mother, may I consume this piece in it’s entirety?”

…one sugar coma later…

The finale.

So all in all, a very successful cake-venture.  By the time we got to presents it was sheer chaos.  Ben actually ended up in nothing but a diaper, which around these parts, is the mark of a pretty successful party.  I’ll spare you the play-by-play of the opening of the gifts, but this one (below) is an obvious stand out.

He’s all…”Really, Ruby?  Really.  Surely even you can see that I am in the midst of enjoying the toy I just opened not a moment ago.  So if I could appeal to any part of you that is logical or courteous, I would like to ask that you hold your damn horses while I at least see what the buttons do before shoving the next gift in my face.  Salvage some of your fleeting dignity.”  Or something like that.

So in summation…I know that some of you parents out there think that your kids are the best and all that hoopla, but I would just like to be honest, do you a solid, and take the pressure off of you for being the parents of the coolest kids around.  Because you’re not.  I am.  I love you Benjamin Banks!  Happy Birthday little man.

Oh, and seriously, check out that cake recipe.  She also offers up the recipe for what I am sure is an OUTSTANDING frosting, but I had to use a more birthday cake friendly option.  I used Martha Stewart’s Dark Chocolate Frosting on mine.  It’s insane.

To make a 9X13 version of The Best Chocolate Sheetcake. Ever. (by The Pioneer Woman), you’ll need:

  • 2 cups Flour
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 4 Tablespoons (heaping) Cocoa
  • 2 sticks Butter
  • 1 cup Boiling Water
  • 1/2 cup Buttermilk
  • 2 whole Beaten Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Directions

Note: I used a 9×13 cake pan.

  1. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, and salt.
  2. In a saucepan, melt butter. Add cocoa. Stir together.
    Add boiling water, allow mixture to boil for 30 seconds, then turn off heat. Pour over flour mixture, and stir lightly to cool.
  3. In a measuring cup, pour the buttermilk and add beaten eggs, baking soda, and vanilla. Stir buttermilk mixture into butter/chocolate mixture. Pour into sheet cake pan and bake at 350-degrees for about 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  4. Go to the mirror and practice your “I slaved away all day” face, because with this cake, they’ll totally buy it.  So awesome.
2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Benjamin Banks!

Leave a Reply

