AMAZING Espresso Buttercream

Okay.

So, I was charged with making cupcakes for my cousin’s baby shower.  Intimidating?  A little.  But to add to it, my cousin and our friend who was also in attendance, are my weight-loss buddies.  If you’re going to ask someone who you’re supposed to be supporting, to vacate their diet for ANY reason, it better be a damn delicious reason.  So I had to come up with something really good.

I did.

Alright…busted.  These are not the ACTUAL cupcakes I made for the shower…but there was a rush, I tell ya, yeah, a real rush, and I was late, and in the kerfuffle I forgot to take a picture.  Have you ever taken a picture in a kerfuffle?  It’s not easy, so lay off man.   I made chocolate cupcakes for the shower, so use your brain and imagine your own damn picture.  Hmpf.

So with that said, these are the cupcakes I made a few days after the shower, for a friend that was coming by for a visit.  These ones are white cupcakes, that have been filled with (store-bought) caramel, and topped with the most heavenly, indescribably delicious, leftover espresso buttercream.

I had to make some minis so we didn’t feel bad eating 10 each.

And I made some pretty ones for the kids, since all they eat is icing and sprinkles anyway.

I know, it seems a bit extravagant, but I don’t get a lot of visitors.  And I’m not even going to MENTION the fact that she brought about 30 mini cinnamon buns with her.  And I am DEFINITELY not going to mention that there were only 2 adults and 5 children here.  No.  One.  Else.  Man, I hope that never gets out.

Okeeeeeeeee.  So before I embarrass myself any more (not possible) I better just get to the recipe.

It’s another one of Martha’s, of course.  So read this note, then prepare yourself for a flavour EXPLOSION!  (Disclaimer:  Nothing actually explodes upon consumption of this icing.)

To make about 5 cups of AMAZING Espresso Buttercream, you’ll need:

  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 5 large egg whites
  • 1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp of good quality espresso powder

Directions

  1. Combine sugar and egg whites in mixer bowl, and set over a pan of simmering water. Whisk constantly until sugar is dissolved and mixture registers 140 degrees on an instant-read thermometer.
  2. Transfer bowl to mixer; whisk on medium-high speed until whites are fluffy and cooled, about 10 minutes. Continue to whisk until stiff, glossy peaks form.
  3. Stir espresso into the vanilla.  I know, you’re thinking, but there’s all that powder, in that bit of liquid, how does that…?  Just DO IT!
  4. Reduce speed to medium-low; add butter by the tablespoon, whisking well after each addition. Whisk in espressofied vanilla.
  5. Take your two cleanest fingers and take a big old scoop.
  6. Die.  See you in Heaven.

It can be refrigerated in an airtight container up to 3 days or frozen up to 1 month. Bring to room temperature before using; beat on lowest speed until smooth, about 3 minutes.Enjoy!

Lora

8 thoughts on “AMAZING Espresso Buttercream

Leave a Reply

