Sausage and Lentil Soup

I almost named this post, Dinner Tonight, because no matter what day you read this on, it’s a pretty safe bet that this would make an excellent choice for just such an occasion.

This soup is hearty, delicious, easy and very inexpensive, thus making it probably my most favourite meal, ever.  I haven’t posted this recipe before now, because it is impossible to photograph nicely.  Does anyone even say “photograph” any more?  Photograph?  It sounds so, pre-telephone.  This post was actually typed on a typewriter and my notes were written with a feather dipped into an inkwell.  Hold on a sec, I have to go answer my telegraph.

I’m back.  It was the 1800’s calling.  They said, “Stop embarrassing yourself by broadcasting how little you know about us.”  Newfangled devices these days…they always have so much attitude.

ANYWAY…

The soup.  It’s amazing.  And I guarantee you’ll be making it at LEAST twice a week, for the foreseeable future.  Here is a picture, but you should know, that it really does this goldmine no favours.

Maybe I should rename it, Sausage and Lentil Stew.  It’s very hearty, like I said.

Anyway, it pulls it’s primary flavours from the sausage, lentils, and this little guy who, incidentally, I like to call “my other husband.”

Alleluia!

This recipe was handed down to me from my mother, and now, I hand it down to you.  Respect it.  Treat it well.  And above all, devour it with complete disregard for manners or digestive precautionary measure.

To make 4 big servings (or 6 sides) of Sausage and Lentil Soup you will need:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 links of your favourite raw, un-smoked sausage.  I use these.
  • 3 large carrots, sliced into 1/4″ slices
  • 2 large celery stalks, sliced into 1/4″ slices
  • 1 large onion
  • 6 buds of garlic, crushed, grated (if you want your hands to reek like garlic for days) or minced
  • 1 19-oz can of tomatoes, blended
  • 4 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 cup red lentils (it matters)
  • 1/3 cup of long-grain rice
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp cayenne powder (optional)

Directions:

  1. This soup comes together so quickly, it’s better if you prep everything ahead of time.  So, cut up your veggies, crush your garlic, blend your tomatoes, and measure your stock, lentils, rice and cayenne (if you’re using it).
  2. In a large pot, heat the olive oil on medium-high heat.
  3. Squeeze the meat out of the sausage and into the pan.  Cook the sausage, breaking it up as you do, until there is no pink left.  You have to babysit this part…or you’ll end up with big chunks of sausage.
  4. Once the meat is done, literally, throw everything else into the pot.  Maybe I shouldn’t have said “literally, throw”.  How about, place everything else in the pot.
  5. Stir it all together, bring it to a boil, then simmer it for 25 minutes, stirring it every 5 minutes or so.  Give it a little taste and you can add some salt and pepper if you think it’s necessary.
  6. Serve it up with (and I know this sounds weird) a splash of soya sauce and Parmesan cheese.  Sounds crazy right?  Well, so did most genius ideas.  Just do it.
  7. ENJOY!

That’s it.  Almost no seasoning required.  The sausage takes care of all that nonsense.  Have a wonderful dinner, and let me know how it was!

Lora

11 thoughts on “Sausage and Lentil Soup

    1. Whateves. I usually have Unico or No Name diced tomatoes hanging around. They go on sale for half price sometimes so we stock up. It’s good with the seasoned ones or not. It’s a very forgiving soup. But make sure if you’re going to confess your sins to it, you’re alone at the table when you do.

    1. I don’t really know what I mean’t by “keeper”, I guess the recipe is a keeper. Anyways, the soup is damn delicious!!!! The parmesean takes it to a whole other level!

Leave a Reply

