Bake your bread and eat it too…or three (or four) times a day!

There is love…and then there’s the way I feel about bread.  If I could fashion a casket from some crusty bread, I may reconsider my fear of death.  OMG.  I just had an amazing idea for my next craft project.  A bread bed.  That’s all I’ll say for now.

Anyway…

I think I’ll begin this tale with a little (seemingly unrelated) detour.

So, I had a birthday in March.  I didn’t post about it, because, well I don’t know why.  (That’s just something lazy people say to explain something away, without explaining anything at all.)  My mom had a nice, little party at her house for me.  Here’s the short version of what went down:

Masks AND noise makers = any 34-year-old dream party!

A noisemaker blow to the face?  Might as well be a nice, warm hug.

Group shot.

What’s that Ruby?  You love me?  Oh, my bad, that’s just the sound of a duo-noisemaker piercing my eardrum.

Here’s your gift mom!  Oh no it’s not.  Just more noisemakers.

Thanks, Em.  I love you too.

In non-noisemaker related news, Ben tested his first ice cream cone…

…which will certainly not be his last.

And finally, a photo of the card my parent’s gave me.  They got me a bathing suit, but more importantly, finally solved the riddle behind my obsession with photoshopping heads onto other heads, cartoons, or inappropriate objects.  Genetics.

So what does all of this birthday talk have to do with the title, “Bake your bread and eat it too…or three (or four) times a day!”?  Well I’ll tell you.  I got a bread machine for my birthday and it’s the best thing ever!

You know when you walk by a Subway™ restaurant, and you catch a whiff of that wonderful aroma floating out the door?  Well that’s not the stacks of over-processed-probably-meats or the buckets of GMO veggies you’re smelling, my friend.  It’s that fresh, baked bread.  Now that I have a bread machine, it’s like I LIVE in a Subway™ restaurant, every day!  A gal’s dream come true right?  Perhaps I could have chosen a better metaphor, like a bakery or something.  Anyway, you get the point.

So, ever since the day I got this bread machine, I haven’t bought a single loaf of bread.  It’s delicious, it’s cheap, it’s easy, it smells like heaven, and I get the comfort of knowing that instead of feeding my kids chemicals like calcium propionate, potassium sorbate and sorbic acid, I am feeding them nothing more than these simple ingredients.

(I like how sugar always wiggles it’s way to the forefront.)  But the point is, all of the ingredients are close to their natural state and don’t come in test tubes.

Now, granted, the shape of the loaf that comes out, takes a little getting used to.  It’s a little shorter than your average loaf, but because there aren’t tons of preservatives in it, you’ll want to be able to eat through it pretty quickly.  Which, incidentally, is something I have NO PROBLEM doing.

You say small?  I say, adorable!  And, I don’t know if you can tell from this picture, but the crust is INCREDIBLE!  I’ve also made a ton of different breads, like cinnamon raisin, a dark rye, whole wheat, a nutty bread and a cheese bread.

But that’s not all!

You can also use your bread machine to make dough.  So far I’ve made two varieties of foccacia (but ate them both before I could take a picture.)  I also made these cinnamon rolls…

…and two kinds of pretzels.  Some jalapeno cheddar ones, and these simple sea salt babies.

Yeah…the list goes on.

So, in the event that you’re wondering IF you should buy a bread machine, the answer is yes.  Unless your birthday is just around the corner and you have some generous people in your life.  It’s been so awesome having one…and did I mention the smell?

I’ll share my favourite “daily bread” recipe with you.  It works out perfect for me every time.  Try it out!

To make one 1.5lb loaf of Lora’s Daily Bread, you’ll need:

  • 1-1/4 cups of hot water (I’m not sure where the bread gods stand on this, but I usually use just boiled water…shhhh!)
  • 1-1/2 tbsp dried milk powder
  • 1-1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp white sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 3 cups Robin Hood Multigrain Best For Bread Flour (my favourite!)
  • 2-1/2 tsp dry active (or bread machine) yeast

Directions:

  1. Place the water, milk powder, olive oil, sugar and kosher salt in the bread pan.
  2. Measure the flour by spooning it into a measuring cup (as oppose to dipping the cup into the flour), and sprinkle it over the wet ingredients so that they are covered.
  3. Make a little well in the flour, and pour the yeast into the well.
  4. Put it on the basic, rapid, white bread cycle for a 1.5lb loaf.
  5. Wait about 15 minutes before cutting in.  Or tearing in…with your teeth.

Enjoy!

Let me know if you have any tips on how to get more out of the machine, or any awesome recipes to try out.  And if you notice I haven’t posted in a while, it could be because I have an entire loaf lodged in my throat.  Send water!  Or a crusty bread casket depending on how long it’s been.

Thanks peeps.

Lora

12 thoughts on “Bake your bread and eat it too…or three (or four) times a day!

  1. Love your posts. I used to have a bread machine and felt the same way. The aroma gets you everytime and you’re right far more healthier than store bought. Have fun and thanks for sharing!

  2. Yum! My mom had a bread machine when we were kids and the smell of them is DELICIOUS. There aren’t enough capital letters in the world to emphasize the deliciousness of it all. I don’t own a bread machine because I am poor, but I have been dropping hints to everyone on the face of the planet that a bread machine would be super awesome to own. *hint hint, Lora*
    On a side note, those masks are from Dollarama are they not? Are they awesome? Ally’s birthday is coming up…in the future…(I’m an advanced planner) and she mentioned maybe a zoo theme, and I saw those masks there and if they’re awesome then maybe all the kids will like wearing them.
    Or something. This is only my first coffee. Words no good yet face.

    1. Haha! You know…I can get a good 10 loaves out of a $10 bag of flour, so you could call it an investment?!? Also, yes those masks are from Dollarama – my mom’s new favourite store. They’re awesome…and I think they come in a pack of 6 or something.

      Know what? When I hit the big time with this whole blogging thing, I’ll send you a custom bread maker…with a picture airbrushed on the side of you and I high-fiving each other.

      1. Coolest. Gift. Ever.
        When you hit the big time with blogging and go to arrange this awesome airbrush picture, we’ll have to get together FOR the high-five, which may be the coolest part of all. Let our kidlets run around with each other and tire themselves out. Win.

        Dollarama is my favourite store too. There are so many cheap toys and craft supplies for the kids, it’s amazing. Plus I can get kitchen supplies and party stuff, what an awesome place *sigh*.

  3. Did mom and dad really get you a bathing suit? And is it that one? And where can I buy it (or something similar)?

    PS. You’re amazing. I thought I could smell bread while I was reading this. Turns out, it was the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I just baked. But it really added to the whole experience of reading your blog. I think a bread maker is definitely a necessity around here. I’ll have Kevin read this and then the bread maker issue will no longer be up for debate!

  4. I LOVE making bread… my fave is a whole wheat loaf with a few crushed garlic cloves and about a tablespoon of dill….. grownup bread…. 😉

Leave a Reply

