Roasted Plum and Goat Cheese Salad

So the other day I was updating my “Recipes” page on my blog, when I realized it looks like 90% of my diet consists of cookies, brownies, cakes and cupcakes.  This, I can assure you, is not the case, but this funny thing always happens at meal time.

How do I describe it best?  Let’s see…oh yes.  I feel kind of like King Kong, toward the end of the movie…when he’s hanging on to the Empire States Building and the planes are attacking him.

The guy just wants to save his dignity and his damn soul mate…give him some space.  Instead, all of these planes start diving at him, trying to shoot him or knock him off or whatever, and what was previously a safe, stable situation, is suddenly death defying.  Yeah, that’s how I feel about making dinner.

I’m balancing pots and pans, stirring with both hands and pouring juice with my right foot.  And while I’m doing this, toys are flying everywhere, and the kids are running around screaming trying to get me to lay a verdict on who’s doll is who’s.  Then, by the time I get everything on the table and sit down to eat, I can’t switch out of that rushy-rushy-hurry-uppy mode, and I scarf all of my food down before I can even look at it, let alone take a picture of it.

That’s why I rarely post the food I make for dinner.  You see, there’s never a rush on baking.  I guess that’s why I love it so much.  I do it at night when the kids are in bed, or in the day while they’re watching a movie or whatever.  No one’s hungry, no one’s crazy, no one’s bugging me and there’s plenty of time for a food-o-shoot.  Not dinner though.

Well…today that all changes.

http://www.headlineshirts.net/le-king-kong-t-shirt.html?hsnh_vendor=shareasale

I will post what I made for dinner, because I deserve to take a breath before I sit down to eat.  I will take pictures of my meals because I deserve to take a moment to see what I’m eating.

Pfft.  Who am I kidding.  I just don’t want anyone thinking I serve a strict diet of sugar and white flour around here.  Pure shame.

Anyway, the other day I saw some plums at the store, and had a recollection of someone roasting them on a blog I read somewhere.  I went into kind of a trance, staring at the plum, thinking of it roasting on a pan.  A love song started to play then the whole grocery store broke into a simultaneous dance.  Then I snapped out of it and bought some plums.

I brought them home and forgot all about them.  They sat in the fridge for a couple of days.  Then I opened the fridge one afternoon and our eyes met.  A love song started to play and the eggs broke into simultaneous dance.  After I re-lit the pilot light on my stove and stopped hallucinating, I decided to make a salad.

I didn’t want anything to get in the way of the plums, so I just paired it with some simple greens, thinly sliced onions and goat cheese.  It would also be fantastic with some walnuts but I didn’t have any so…whatever.  I’m not Michael Smith.  I don’t have a constantly topped up pantry.  I don’t have Gabe to think about.  (If you got, and laughed at those last three sentences, we would make great friends.  If not, sorry.)

Anyway, it was scrumptious.  Here’s how you can make your very own Roasted Plum and Goat Cheese Salad (for 2).

You’ll need:

  • 3 plums, pitted and sliced, coated in olive oil
  • 1/3 cup soft, goat cheese
  • 1/4 of a red onion, sliced VERY thin
  • 4 or 5 handfuls of mixed greens
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp prepared mustard
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Set your oven to 425 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with foil or the sugar will ruin your sheet.
  2. Toss the plum slices in some oil, enough to coat them, and place them on the sheet.  Roast them for about 15 minutes.
  3. In the meantime, put the rest of your salad together.
  4. In a food processor (or as I like to call it, Magic Bullet) measure the oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, sugar, mustard, thyme, salt and pepper, and pulse it until it’s thoroughly mixed.  It turns a lovely shade of grayish brown.  Appetizing.  But trust me, it’s delicious.
  5. Take out the plums and let them cool for a minute.  Place them in the salad while they’re still warm.  Toss with the dressing and serve.  If you don’t use all the dressing, save it in the fridge for the next day.

Now, go forth and dine.

Lora

Oh, and yes, I do realize that the second picture of King Kong is actually on the Eiffel Tower.  And no, I didn’t realize that until I was done photoshopping it, and was too lazy to change it out.

16 thoughts on “Roasted Plum and Goat Cheese Salad

  1. Very funny Photoshopping 😀 The guy needs some space…reminded me of getting to the last part of my run on my lunch hour and finding one of our own had escaped from the hospital – had to keep running since security is habitually 30 minutes late to any event! Got him. In fact, the best therapy at that point probably would have been cookies, brownies, cakes & cupcakes – probably better than any lame words I had to offer in my sweaty condition. Sounds like a delish recipie…you are so creative!

      1. Thanks! I was majorly disappointed when I got to the top of the hill and my supervisor came huffing and puffing up behind me to inform me that the new policy prohibits chase – they are police jurisdiction beyond parking lot. Guess I may as well quit running now and go back to my Chocolate Trinity ice cream…haha

  2. First of all, goat cheese: name. Would it just say ‘goat cheese’ at the store, or will my 2kg bucket of feta suffice?
    Secondly, your picture made me laugh and almost spit coffee. Almost. It is coffee after all. I think it’s great that you’re on the Eiffel Tower, after all, King Kong was famous for the Empire State Building, so YOU can be famous for the Eiffel Tower. You can always say your salad had a french inspiration.
    Thirdly, next time, please, please, please, photoshop your kids faces on the planes. My kids attack me when I’m trying to cook too, and sometimes I don’t care whose GO**@MN doll it is, I will throw it in the garbage if it comes in here one more time. *gasp*

    1. Haha. I thought about doing the kids faces but I was already too tired. Feta would be just fine, but if you want to try goat cheese I usually get President’s Choice Soft Unripened Goat Cheese. It’s usually near the deli with the other cheeses. Not in the dairy section with the usual, ghetto cheese. Cheddar will never be the same to me after the flu incident.

      1. Hahaha! I’m fairly certain Norwalk ruined chicken alfredo for my brother. Luckily, I don’t associate as much otherwise I would be missing out on orange juice after the last sickness that ripped through here!
        And I love that you call is ghetto cheese. I think that word is severely underused, it’s one of my favourites.

  3. Lora, you are hilarious. I don’t have any kids, and most of my blog recipes still end up being sweets. For me I think it’s because I am so stinking ready to eat my dinner that I do not want to waste a minute by taking pictures! This salad looks wonnnnnderful. I think you might need to photoshop a Wonderwoman pic next 🙂

Leave a Reply

