Crafty Little Buggers

This morning I set the kids up to do a craft, which involved paint, picture frames and father’s day.  I don’t want to give away any secrets in case Chris reads this.  We’re good with secrets around here.  If you’re looking for tips, here’s how Ruby kept her Father’s Day crafts a secret.

Secret Keeping Tactic Part 1:  Saying, “Dad, today we’re going to do a craft for…Mother’s Day, NOT Father’s Day, okay?”

Secret Keeping Tactic Part 2:  Saying, “Dad?   Nothing!”

Secret Keeping Tactic Part 3:  Saying, “We’re not painting anything for you, Dad.”

Secret Keeping Tactic Part 4:  Deciding that as long as Dad is in the next room, we can feel free to scream out every detail regarding the secret craft at the top of our lungs.  And when I say “our” lungs, I mean “Ruby and Emma’s” lungs.

So I set the kids up with their secret craft, and I got to work on my grocery list.  While I was coming up with the list I overheard the word “tattoo” several times, but it didn’t really sink in.  Until I turned around to find this:

I think I would have been more mad if it didn’t suit them so well.  Like, really, they look pretty cool right?

Anyway, here’s what went down:

ME:  Oh, and we’ll need milk, and…what the?!

RUBY and EMMA:  (Silent).

ME:  You guys!

RUBY:  Are so cute sometimes?

Cute.  That’s a funny way of saying “the biggest troublemakers EVER” but I’ll take it.

Arm scrubbingly,

Lora

P.S.  Also, regarding the F-Words Monster Stuffie Giveaway:  You have to TELL ME if you want to be entered.  I’m not saying I’m overflowing with followers, but I didn’t want to just put everyone’s name in the hat, because if I pulled my supportive (but totally uninterested in stuffies) childless, friend’s name from the ballot box as the winner, they’re customized doll would come out with a very resentful expression on it’s face.  So…TELL ME IF YOU WANT TO BE ENTERED IN THE DRAW by leaving a comment on the Giveaway post.  Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Crafty Little Buggers

  1. You better start instilling the “not above the collarbone” tattoo ethic into them now, or they won’t be able to get jobs with their fully (and adorably) tattooed faces.

  2. That’s a pretty accurate colour for a ten-year-sun-faded-prison-tattoo. I’m impressed. Tell your kids to stay out of prison. And always make sure the tattoo artist using a fresh needle.
    I’m going to give my kids the same rule that I gave myself. Plan it for A YEAR. If you still want it in the same place and in the same way one year later then it’s probably something you’ll like forever. Oh, and you can’t get one until you’re 18. So there.

Leave a Reply

