Thanks WordAds. Thanks a billion(th of a penny per impression).

So, as you may or may not remember, about a month ago I was approved for an ad program called WordAds to make a little money on my blog.  Come to think of it, I think I only mentioned it on Facebook, not on my actual blog.  Anyway, that old lady you see in the bathtub at the end of most of my posts is one of those ads.

I searched high and low, including talking directly to WordPress (the creators of the program) to find out how much one could stand to make from uglying up one’s blog with ads.  I got a few different answers, but the most definitive was that the subscribers are paid per “impression.”  This means that when someone loads the page, or a new page and a new ad is displayed I get paid for it.  No clicking on the ad required.

At this news I got pretty excited.  So I poured it on and was able to get about 90 hits a day.  I thought maybe this could make me some money.  And did it ever!  In one month I made….get ready…

$2.14

Just to clarify, that dollar amount in not “in millions of dollars.”  I got 214 pennies.  And that’s not all.  Apparently, they only pay out in $100 increments.  So at this rate, I’ll be a cool hundred-aire in about four years!  Look out Donald Trump!  If you don’t watch yourself I’ll be buying one of your…water bottles.

That is a real label from one of his real water bottles.

Anyway, I just wanted to put this out there.  Do the ads bother anyone?  In my financial state, I really shouldn’t be balking at $2.14, but is it worth it to you guys?  Does anyone even care if they’re there?  I mean really, it’s nice to see an old lady in a bathtub isn’t it?

I was just looking through the ads on F-Words so that I could find the picture of the old lady in the bathtub, but I see that this month they have switched from my previous old-lady-in-a-bathtub demographic, to an online-dating-and-online-video-game-playing demographic.  Maybe I should just lose the ads, no?  Let me know what you think.

Thanks you poor suckers.  If I don’t respond to your comments right away it’s because I’m busy counting my 214 pennies.

Lora

11 thoughts on “Thanks WordAds. Thanks a billion(th of a penny per impression).

  1. ok here goes: I am NOT a blogger. I am just a suscriber/follower to your blog.( and a few others) I DO NOT “click” on ads of any kind. If I wanted to know about a product I would go there.I really love the way You write not what they are trying to sell me. Your choice. I realize you are trying to make a dime or two but come on they are takeing up your space. (sorry for the rant) Hello from Alabama 🙂

    1. Hey Mary! Thanks for the feedback. I think I’m going to take them off for a while…they’re kind of annoying and let’s face it, if I buy an extra pound of butter when it’s on sale, I’ll save that $2.14 I’ll lose by getting rid of the ads. That way, I also get to eat butter so it’s a win/win if you ask me.

  2. Meh. One ad block doesn’t bother me. I’m not a big fan of the blogs where there are ads alllllll down the sidebars and then following each post, but that’s just my preference. I’d like to panhandle on my blog. Put up a button that is an outstretched hat that people can toss their change at me. I don’t know how well that would work though. Sigh. Stupid life costing stupid money.

    1. Word up. We should just start a damn commune already and grow our own food, live off the grid and teach our own kids. HELLO! We’re like the smartest (asses) people in the world.

  3. Lora, Thanks for writing this — it made for a hilarious read. First of all, I’d say that the ad on this page in no way distracts from your text. (My only feeling is that the ad looks somewhat bizarre — there is absolutely nothing there to entice a reader to click on it — although I get what you say about being paid per “impression” rather than per ad click.) I’ve made numerous queries about how much a blogger can make from WordAds and WordPress is very cagey to commit: “It depends on where you live, ad revenue is much higher in the U.S. …” etc.

    I did hear from one blogger that it works out very roughly at 1c per click, but your experience indicates otherwise.

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

